PEPA/SIEL Baetens-Caiado Prize

The Baetens-Caiado Prize is an essay prize, established by the Society of International Economic Law and sponsored by Dr. Suresh Nanwani, Professor of Practice at Durham University, United Kingdom. The prize is to award the best essay submitted on any topic in the field of international economic law at the PEPA/SIEL conference. The prize is for an initial duration of 3 years.

The prize event was launched at the 11th Conference of the PEPA/SIEL in June 2022 at the University of Birmingham Law School, United Kingdom.

Acknowledgement: SIEL acknowledges thanks and appreciation to the African Journal of International Economic Law (AfIELJ) including its Co-Editors in Chief, James T. Gathii and Olabisi D. Akinkugbe for AfIELJ’s participation in the prize.

Prize competition: The competition is open to presenters at the conference. The host organizer of the PEPA/SIEL conference will provide information on the essay prize, including email address for submission, submission date, and other information. The submission period is usually within 4 weeks after the last day of the conference.

Length of essay: between 8,000 and 9,000 words (excluding footnotes)

  • Citations: Citations in the manuscript must conform to the Twenty-First Edition of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. For example, see the Inaugural Issue of the AfJIEL.
  • Abstract: Please include a short abstract with your submission (150 words maximum).


  • Winning essay: The winning essay will be submitted to AfIELJ for publication, subject to its standard peer review and decision procedures. The AfJIEL is an open access journal.
  • Prize: GBP100 for the best essay (if there is more than one essayist, the prize will be distributed accordingly), and GBP100 for African International Economic Law Network (AfIELN) which is closely associated with AfIELJ.


Selection Process

  • Award of prize: The prize for the best essay is awarded by SIEL on the recommendation of a prize committee drawn from the host organizer of the SIEL/PEPA conference and two members from SIEL Executive Council Committee. The prize award will be announced on the SIEL website.




PEPA/SIEL Baetens-Caiado Prize